Saturday Mar 2, 2024
Saturday Mar 2, 2024

Elections: 385 independent candidates elected

2022 May 28, 15:29, Kathmandu

So far, 385 independent candidates have been elected in the local-level elections. According to the Election Commission (EC), 266 independent candidates and 119 women candidates have been elected in the local level elections with the participation of 24 political parties.

According to the EC, out of the independent candidates, seven have been elected as the municipality chief and six as the village chairman. Independent candidates have been elected for the major posts of Kathmandu Metropolitan City, Dharan Sub-metropolis, Dhangadhi Sub-metropolis, and Janakpur Sub-metropolis.

Independent candidate Balendra Shah has been elected in the Kathmandu metropolis by getting 61 thousand 767 votes. This is the first time an independent candidate has been elected in Kathmandu.

In Janakpur, independent candidate Manoj Kumar Sahasudi has won with 13 thousand 465 votes, in Dharan sub-metropolis Harkaraj Rai has got 20 thousand 821 votes and in Dhangadhi sub-metropolis Gopal Hamal has got 26 thousand 865 votes.

Independent candidates have been elected deputy chief and vice-president two. Independent ward chairman 136 has been elected. Of them, 133 are males and three are females. Among the 60 women members, 55 Dalit women members and 117 male members have been elected.


local level elections Election Commission Kathmandu Metropolitan City Balendra Shah
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal