Monday Aug 15, 2022
Monday Aug 15, 2022

Government committed to press freedom- Karki

2022 May 29, 16:21, Kathmandu
Representative Image. Photo- Flickr

Minister for Communications and Information Technology Gyanendra Bahadur Karki has said that the government is committed to freedom of press and freedom of expression. Speaking at a program organized here today on the occasion of the 13th anniversary of Community Information Network (CIN) run by Community Radio Broadcasters Association (AKORAB) Nepal, he urged all to play a supportive role in strengthening press freedom and freedom of expression.

Minister Karki also stressed on the need to make Nepali journalism the main medium of social change by developing it as a fair, balanced, reliable and fact-based media. He said, "Community FM radio should focus on broadcasting in a way that promotes local production and its promotion, especially in modern agriculture, tourism and water resources. For that, community radio should be strengthened with internal and national unity." Minister Karki lauded the community FM radio for its invaluable contribution to social change through consciousness and hoped for a more positive role in building a prosperous Nepal in the days to come.

Former Chairman of Akorab, Min Bahadur Shahi, expressed the view that mass media policy and laws should be formulated to improve the broadcasting system. Chairperson of the National Commission for Women Kamala Parajuli, Chairperson of the Press Council Nepal Bal Krishna Basnet, Chairperson of the Advertising Board Laxman Humagain and Director General of the Information and Broadcasting Department Gogan Hamal urged for credible journalism.

 Educationist Dr. Vidyanath Koirala, Spokesperson of the Ministry of Health and Population Dr. Sameer Kumar Adhikari, Information Officer of the Education Service Commission Sudarshan Marhatta, Spokesperson of the Election Commission Shalikgram Sharma Poudel, Analyst Jainendra Jeevan, Infectious Diseases Specialist Dr. Sher Bahadur Pun, Professor Dhruv Ghimire and Senior Economist Chandra Mani Adhikari were honored at the program.

(Akorab) 's' Volunteer Community Journalist Award' for Lalita Hayu (Radio Siddhababa, Sindhuli), 'Community Radio Journalism Award' for women, Shobha Humagarin (Radio Roshi Kavre), and Bhuvan Rayamajhi (Radio Muktinath, Palpa) for men and "CIN The interior" was provided to Sushila Shrestha. The prize money for each award is Rs 15,000.


Kathmandu Government committed to press freedom- Karki Minister for Communications and Information Technology Gyanendra Bahadur Karki freedom of expression freedom of press
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal