Wednesday Aug 10, 2022
Wednesday Aug 10, 2022

Minister Badu calls for contribution to Sudurpaschim campaign

2022 Jun 06, 6:19, Kathmandu
This undate image shows the Province Assembly building od Sudurpaschim Province in Dhangadhi, Kailali district. Photo: Sudurpaschim Province

Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies Dilendra Prasad Badu has stressed the need for contribution from all stakeholders for the overall development of Sudurpaschim Province.

At a programme organized here Sunday marking the 11th general assembly of Sudurpaschim Concern Forum, Minister Badu stated that the Sudurpaschim Province of the country was lagging in the mainstream of development, but state intervention for the development there is still insufficient.

Sharing the fact that the Sudurpaschim region was developed more after the restoration of democracy, Minister Badu however said more is left to do on infrastructure development.

The dry port being constructed in Kanchapur would help in trade facilitation and reduce costs, he added.

On the occasion, former deputy prime minister Bhim Rawal said it was unfortunate that the annual budget for the upcoming fiscal year has failed to incorporate religious and archaeological sites of Sudurpaschim Province for their promotion and development. He asked the government to include the Khaptad region in the new budget.

Likewise, former minister NP Saud said the region has progressed gradually in the areas of road network, health, education and irrigation sectors. Despite some challenges to the development and prosperity of Sudurpaschim, it is achievable with the common efforts of all, according to Saud.

Former minister Ganesh Thagunna, National Planning Commission Vice-Chairperson Dr Bishwo Nath Poudel, Forum’s founding chairperson and former chief of Nepal Police Motilal Bohara, Forum’s Chairperson Bishnu Prasad Khatri and others expressed their opinions on the development of the Sudurpaschim Province.

Meanwhile, a 14-member new working committee of the Forum was elected under the chair of Bahadur Singh Bista.

Bhaskar Lama and Rajrajeshwori Singh were elected vice-chairs while Laxmi Shah was elected as the general secretary.

Purna Bahadur Chand and Godawari Singh Shahi were made to the posts of secretary and treasurer, respectively.

Nar Bahadur Bista, Mohan Singh Yetwal, Shamsher Thakurathi, Bhismaraj Ojha, Dev Bahadur Bohara, Arjun Bahadur Singh, Laxmi Prasad Upadhyay and Bijaya Bahadur Shah were picked as the members of the working committee.


Minister for Industry Sudurpaschim Province Dilendra Prasad Badu Sudurpaschim region NepalNews Latest news of Nepal nepal
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal