Wednesday Apr 24, 2024
Wednesday Apr 24, 2024

NEAJA Honors Female Journalists Excellence

2023 Oct 13, 9:13, Kathmandu
Image: RSS

Two female journalists have been jointly awarded with NEAJA Rural Outstanding Journalism Award-2022. The award is established by Nepal America Journalists Association (NEAJA) and is presented every two years.

The award was presented to Dilmaya Shahi (Sandhan Online, Jumla, Karnali Province) and Kamala Tamang 'Pakhrin' (Kantipur Television, Sindhupalchok, Bagmati Province).

At a programme organised by Federation of Nepali Journalists and NEAJA here on Thursday, Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister, Narayan Kaji Shrestha, congratulated both female journalists and lauded the role played by Nepali journalism sector in Nepal's political changes.

Pointing out the need for reform in the journalism sector as like in other sectors, DPM Shrestha stressed on transformation with self-criticism. He mentioned that formulation of laws related to media would be forwarded with priority.

Similarly, FNJ President Bipul Pokharel congratulated Shahi and Tamang and expressed commitment for continuous collaboration with NEAJA. He drew the government's attention to formulate laws incorporating all areas of journalisms and simplifying the law formulation process.

Likewise, Chairperson of Press Council Nepal, Bal Krishna Basnet, opined that there would be reform in the journalism sector only if journalists disseminate true and factual news following journalism norms and values.

NEAJA Chairperson Suraj Bhandari, General-Secretary Baburam Dahal expressed commitment for their continuous support to Nepal's journalism sector in coming days.


NEAJA Rural Outstanding Journalism Award journalists female Kantipur Television Karnali province Narayan Kaji Shrestha
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal