Wednesday Feb 28, 2024
Wednesday Feb 28, 2024

PM Dahal to not take a vote of confidence again

2023 May 07, 8:48, Kathmandu
Prime Minister and Chairman of CPN-Maoist (Centre) Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Chairman of Nepali Congress Sher Bahadur Deuba, and others participated in the meeting of the top leaders of the parties participating in the government-held at the Prime Minister's residence Baluwatar on Saturday. (Photo: RSS)

Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal would not take a vote of confidence again, concluded a meeting of the ruling coalition that took place on Saturday at the Office of Prime Minister in Baluwatar.

The meeting was attended by top leaders of alliance partners including the CPN (Maoist Centre), Nepali Congress, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Janata Samajwadi Party, among others.

“There is no law that requires the Prime Minister to take a vote of confidence again now. Today’s meeting discussed how the parliament session, that is begins tomorrow, could be made more effective,” said the Chief Whip of the Maoist Centre, Hitraj Pandey after the meeting.

After the Rastriya Swatantra Party had withdrawn its support to the incumbent coalition government, discussions were making the rounds where the PM needs to take a vote of confidence again. PM is also said to have taken suggestions from advocates on the matter.

In the meeting, the Prime Minister took suggestions on what should be prioritized in the budget and policies and programs for the next fiscal year, he said. The meeting discussed the issues of proceeding with the bills relating to the parliament committee, citizenship, and the appointment of the Chief Justice, it has been said.

The meeting was attended by PM Dahal, Maoist Centre General Secretary Dev Prasad Gurung and leader Shakti Bahadur Basnet, NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba, and Vice President Dhanraj Gurung, Deputy Prime Minister and Defence Minister Purna Bahadur Khadka, CPN (Unified Socialist) Chairperson Madhav Kumar Nepal and General Secretary Ghana Shyam Bhusal, Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal Chair Upendra Yadav and leader Rajendra Shrestha and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Chairperson Mahantha Thakur.



PM Dahal to not take vote of confidence Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal