Sunday Jul 21, 2024
Sunday Jul 21, 2024

President confers honors, decorations, titles to 728 individuals

2023 Apr 14, 18:12, Kathmandu

President Ramchandra Paudel today decorated 728 people from various walks of life including the former Prime Minister the late Sushil Koirala with various honours, decorations and titles.

The President conferred the Nepal Ratna on former Prime Minister Sushil Koirala (posthumously) amidst a ceremony at the Office of the President, Sheetal Niwas today.

Similarly, three were decorated with the Rastra Gaurav award and they are the Jibaraj Neupane 'Ashrit' (posthumously), former Chairman of the Council of Ministers, Khilraj Regmi, and culture expert Satya Mohan Joshi (posthumously).

Likewise, Dr Jagaman Gurung was conferred the Suprasiddha Prabal Janasewa Shree.

Fourteen were conferred with the Prasiddha Prabal Janasewa Shree, 16 received the Sukirtimaya Rastradeep, 165 the Suprabal Janasewa Shree, six the Kirtimaya Rastradeep, 316 the Prabal Janasewa Shree, one the Rastradeep and 205 were awarded the Jana Sewa Shree.

The people receiving decorations which were announced on the occasion of the Constitution Day on September 19, 2022 were businesspersons, culture experts, artists, social workers, athletes and coaches, civil service employees, Nepal Army personnel, physicians and foreign nationals.

The article 277 of the Constitution has the provision that the President shall confer titles, honours and decorations to be conferred on behalf of the State.

Four RSS employees decorated

On the occasion, the President decorated four National News Agency or Rastriya Samachar Samiti (RSS) employees with the Prabal Janasewa Shree and Janasewa Shree award. They are Chief administrator Sheetal Prasad Mahato (Prabal Janasewa Shree), RSS Chitwan Office Chief Narayan Adhikari (Prabal Janasewa Shree), RSS Kanchanpur Office Chief Sher Bahadur Singh (Janasewa Shree) and journalist Bheshraj Karki (Janasewa Shree).

Vice President Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', House of Representatives (HoR) Speaker Devraj Ghimire and National Assembly Chair Ganesh Prasad Timilsina were present on the occasion.


President Ramchandra Paudel Prime Minister Sushil Koirala Council of Ministers Khilraj Regmi National News Agency
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal