Friday Dec 8, 2023
Friday Dec 8, 2023

EC recognises CPN (Unified Socialist), Democratic Socialist Party as new parties

2021 Aug 26, 10:25, Kathmandu
Leaders of a group led by madhav Kumar Nepal and mediapoersons at Election Commission in Kathmandu, on Wednesday, August 25, 2021. Photo: RSS

The Election Commission (EC) has registered the CPN (Unified Socialist) and Democratic Socialist Party as new political parties.

Wednesday's meeting of the EC gave verification certificates to the CPN (Unified Socialist) under the chair of Madhav Kumar Nepal and the Democratic Socialist Party led by Mahantha Thakur.

According to the spokesperson of the Commission, Raj Kumar Shrestha, Secretary of the Commission Suresh Adhikari handed over the certificate of party registration to CPN-Unified Socialist leader Rajendra Prasad Pandey and to Democratic Socialist Party of Nepal leader Keshav Jha.

After revolting from the CPN UML, 56 central members and 30 parliamentarians were present in person at the EC to verify themselves in favour of the new party. Based on the Ordinance on political parties, 2078, party central members and parliamentarians were called for verification from 11:30 am to 2 pm with required documents.

Of the 58 names proposed, only Bhaskar Kafle and Rabin Koirala could not be verified today. Former Prime Minister and senior party leader Jhalanath Khanal has been identified by the Nepali Embassy in New Delhi, India.

Likewise, 29 members of the federal parliament also verified themselves in favour of the new party. Though the petitions of MPs Som Prasad Pandey, Mayadevi Gyawali and Sarada Bhatta were not signed, they reached the Commission today for verification.

Following the split from the CPN UML, the support of 41 central members out of the then existing 203 was required to get the new party's recognition. This is the second time that UML has split following 2054 BS over the issue related to the Mahakali treaty.

The Commission has also given party recognition to the Democratic Socialist Party Nepal led by leader Mahanta Thakur. Thakur led a group that disassociated itself from the Janata Samajbadi Party.


Election Commission EC CPN Unified Socialist Democratic Socialist Party
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal