Wednesday Oct 5, 2022
Wednesday Oct 5, 2022

Local level elections: Political activity increased in Myagdi

2022 Apr 04, 12:02, Myagdi

Political parties in Myagdi have intensified their activities targeting the upcoming local level election on May 13.

 Political activity has increased in rural areas. Discussions have started on the possible candidates and results of the ward and municipality. Parties including CPN-UML, CPN-Maoist Center, Rashtriya Prajatantra Party and Rashtriya Janamorcha have finalized the candidates.

 The major parties that have held rallies, conferences and public meetings at the ward and toll levels have stated that they are in the final stages of preparing for the election. Candidates are engaged in selection keeping the option of coordination open. The parties have emphasized the strategy of attracting independent voters and attracting voters from other parties to win the election results by conducting polls. Voters, on the other hand, say that there is a need for a capable, capable and far-sighted leadership at the local level that can be a government close to the people.

 Subodh Baruwal of Annapurna Gaonpalika-6, Birauta suggested that a person should be nominated who can lead to identify and address local problems. "Candidates should be made who can understand the problems and needs of the people," he said.

 Sunil Poudel of Beni-5 Bhirmuni said that political activities have increased in the village as the election is approaching. Poudel, who recently returned home from foreign employment, said that the issues of youth employment, quality health, scientific education, balanced development, good governance and transparency should be on the next election agenda. Voters want politically contributed, clean image, social spirit and experienced people as candidates.

 The Maoists have fielded Nara Bahadur Thapa in Beni-1, Padam Pun in Benpa-3, Om Fagami in Annapurna Gaonpalika-2, Nara Bahadur Bhandari in Raghuganga-2, Tilak Pun in Malika-1, Motiprasad Budha in Malika-3 and Resham Pun in Malika-4. Ruvin Jugjali in Malika-7, Chakra Pun in Dhaulagiri-6 and Ashok Khatri in Dhaulagiri-7 have been selected as ward chairperson candidates, said District Coordinator Resham Jugjali. Ward and Palika candidates have been given time till March 10 to recommend.

 UML has decided to field Tek Bahadur Thapa in Beni-1, Krishna Singh Bania in Benpa-6 and Masvir Roka in Benpa-10.

 Congress Myagdi treasurer Amritman Sherchan informed that a meeting of the district working committee was convened on Monday to discuss the selection of ward and municipality candidates. He said that the candidates would be selected on the basis of the recommendations of the ward and municipality and the report of the deputed representatives during the one-month campaign.

 Although there is a possibility of electoral coordination between the parties affiliated with the ruling coalition, they have not formally discussed it. There are 85,375 voters in Myagdi, which has 45 wards at six local levels. District Election Officer Bhim Prasad Ghimire said that 74 polling stations and 114 polling booths have been set up.

 Polling stations have been added at Annapurna Gaonpalika-8 Nagi's Himachal High School, Beni Nagarpalika-5 Chipleti's Dimwa Basic and Mangala Gaonpalika-1 Bharjula's Balodaya Basic School. It is preparing to collect the details of the employees and submit them to the Chief Election Officer.

 Chief District Officer Chiranjeevi Rana informed that a security strategy has been formulated by conducting on-site monitoring of the polling station. Six nationally recognized parties and 14 other parties have registered at the District Election Office in Myagdi. In the 2074 BS election, there were 71 thousand 463 voters and there were 71 polling stations and 110 polling booths in Myagdi.

 In the last election, the Congress had won Beni municipality chief, Annapurna and Raghuganga village chairpersons, vice chairpersons in Malika village councils and chairpersons in 15 wards. UML had won in Dhaulagiri and Mangala village councils, vice-chairmen, vice-chairmen in Malika and 23 wards. The UCPN-M had won seven wards and RPP had won the deputy chief of Beni municipality.


political parties CPN-UML Rashtriya Prajatantra Party Rashtriya Janamorcha local level election Nepali election
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal