Wednesday Dec 6, 2023
Wednesday Dec 6, 2023

Madhes Province to elect speaker on Jan 16

2023 Jan 02, 18:48, Mahendranagar

The election of the speaker of the Madhes provincial assembly has been scheduled for coming January 16.

 In today's first meeting of the newly elected Provincial Assembly, Govinda Bahadur Neupane, who chaired the meeting as the eldest member, shared that the election for the post of speaker will be held on January 16. 

Provincial Assembly Secretary Ranjit Kumar Yadav shrared that in addition to endorsing the Provincial Assembly Operating Regulations, 2019, the meeting also nominated the member who will preside in the absence of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker as per rule 11 of the regulations. 

The nominated members are MPs Rekha Thakur, Bachha Raut Ahir, Chandan Kumar Singh, Jitendra Prasad Sonar, Fakira Mahato and Ratneshwar Goit.

Chief Minister Lal Babu Raut, former speaker Saroj Kumar Yadav and 14 members of the provincial assembly from various parties addressed the meeting today. 

Most of the parliamentarians who spoke in the assembly were of the opinion that they should rise above the party interests and work together to address the needs of Madhesh province and solve the existing problems while protecting nationalism, democracy and the constitution.

The next meeting of the provincial assembly will be held on January 16.


election Madhes Provincial Assembly Provincial Assembly parliamentarians constitution
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal