Friday Jun 14, 2024
Friday Jun 14, 2024

Shrestha wins Pathibhara Marathon title

2024 May 20, 20:30,

Taplejung, May 20: Hom Lal Shrestha of the Tribhuvan Army Club has won the title of Pathibhara Marathon held today under Taplejung Tourism Festival.

 He completed the 48 kilometers race from Phuling to Pathibhara in four hours, five minutes and 27 seconds. Shrestha received Rs 151,111 and a certificate.

Similarly, Tilak Sunuwar of the Tribhuvan Army Club secured second position by completing the distance in four hours 12 minutes and 48 seconds. He received Rs 111,111 and a certificate.

Likewise, Pratap Thamsuhang of the same club secured third position and got Rs 51,111 and a certificate. He completed the distance in four hours 13 minutes and 24 seconds.

A total of 114 people had participated in Pathibhara Open Marathon.

Towards Women Half Marathon, Army Club's Sunsari Rokaya clinched the title. She completed the 39-kilometer distance from district headquarters-Kaflepati in three hours 44 minutes and 52 seconds.

Kumari Gurung of Phungling-6 became the first runner-up by completing the distance in four hours 22 minutes and 53 seconds. Similarly, Binita Tamang of Mauwakhola rural municipality completed the distance in four hours 27 minutes and 49 seconds and became the second runner-up.

The winner, first runner-up and second runner-up received Rs 81,111, Rs 51,111 and Rs 31,111 and certificate respectively. A total of 47 runners had participated in the Women Half-Marathon, said Coordinator of Pathibhara Marathon Race Management Sub-Committee, Binod Bharati.

The Taplejung Festival that began from May 16 concluded today. The festival was organised with an objective of tourism promotion and development of the district.

Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal