Sunday Jul 3, 2022
Sunday Jul 3, 2022

T20 World Cup Global Qualifier teams decided

2021 Nov 21, 12:54,
Representative photo Photo: AP

All 16 teams to play in the global qualifiers for next year's ICC T20 World Cup in Australia have been decided. Uganda became the last team to reach the global qualifiers after winning the African selection in Rwanda.

Ireland, Netherlands, Oman and Papua New Guinea, were in the last four of the T20 World Cup held in the UAE a year ago. Bahrain and Hong Kong from the Asia region selection, Philippines from East Asia Pacific, Jersey and Germany from Europe and USA and Canada from the US region have reached the global qualifiers.

Hong Kong was selected after the cancellation of the Group B competition in the Asia region, while the Philippines was selected after the cancellation of the East Asia Pacific selection.

The top six teams from Asia are in the global qualifiers. Similarly, there are four teams from Europe, two from Africa, two from USA and two from East Asia. The global qualifiers for the T20 World Cup will be in February and May next year were 16 teams will be played by dividing into two groups.

The top 2-2 teams from both groups will be selected for the T20 World Cup to be held in Australia in October-November next year. Nepal was selected and played in the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh in 2014. In the next two editions, Nepal was not selected.


global qualifiers ICC T20 world cup Australia Ireland Netherlands Oman Papua New Guinea East Asia Pacific
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal