Wednesday May 18, 2022
Wednesday May 18, 2022

Fate of Province 1 government hangs in balance

2021 Aug 26, 8:04,
The Standing Committee meeting of CPN UML has been scheduled for Tuesday, July 13, 2021.

After the tables turned in Gandaki and Lumbini provinces, attention has now moved on to other provinces as far as leadership change is concerned.

Province no 1 is one among the remaining provinces drawing attention with recent political developments at the centre. As a result, the term of Provincial Government of Province 1 hangs in the balance with CPN (UML) split and the subsequent formation of CPN (United Socialist) party led by Madhab Kumar Nepal.

UML leader Sherdhan Rai who was appointed the Chief Minister of the Province on 14 February 2018 defeated Bhim Acharya by 26 votes against Acharya's 24 in the parliamentary party leader election held within CPN (UML).

After three and half years, CM Rai's chair hangs in the balance as is the case of his party CPN (UML) itself. To continue, CM Rai needs at least 47 votes which is still a hard possibility given the uncertain trend of defection at the federal parliament.

As of Wednesday, three members of Provincial Assembly have tilted towards Madhab Nepal's newly founded party. This includes Rajendra Rai from Bhojpur constituency number 1 (1), Ganesh Kumar Kambang of Panchthar constituency number 1(1) and Rajan Rai of Khotang constituency number 1(1).

Rajendra Rai, however, claims they can garner up to 15 members at the last minute.

Buddhi Kumar Rajbhandari, nonetheless, claims that CPN (UML) would continue to rule the province with required majority. ''Our leaders have learnt from past party splits, therefore, we will have enough seats to continue our government'', claimed Rajbhandari.

In the 93-member Provincial Assembly, there are only 92 members as a CPN (Maoist). Center had expelled its former parliamentary party leader Tanka Angbohang after he defected to CPN (UML). Currently, CPN (UML), Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist) Center have 51, 21 and 15 members respectively. Likewise, People's Socialist Party have three while RPP and Limbuwan have one each.

To continue the government with required 47 members will become impossible if more than four members from CPN (UML) defect to the new party.


nepal politics provinces government election
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal