Wednesday Jul 24, 2024
Wednesday Jul 24, 2024

HoR thematic committees to get leadership today

2023 Aug 28, 7:24, Kathmandu
Representative Image.

Ten thematic committees under the House of Representative (HoR) are all set to get their leadership today, after nine months of the parliamentary elections in the country.

Nominations have been registered for the elections of presidents of 10 thematic committees on sunday and the proposals for the candidacies have also been published. The proposals shall be tabled for decision at the concerned committees today.

According to the Federal Parliament Secretariat, various political parties including the Nepali Congress, CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist Centre), Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Janata Samajwadi Party, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Janamat Party have submitted their nominations for the leadership of the HoR thematic committees.

Sole candidacies have been registered in nine committees while two candidacies have been filed for the Industry and Commerce and the Labour and Consumer Interests Committee.

Spokesperson of the Federal Parliament Secretariat Yekram Giri said that the sole candidacy would be declared winner as the president while election will be held if more than candidiasis were received.

Giri said that the committee presidents will be sworn in today itself.

Likewise, Deepak Bahadur Singh of Rastriya Prajatantra Party has registered candidacy for the Infrastructure Development Committee and Bhanubhakta Joshi of the CPN (Unified Socialist) is for the presidency of the Education, Health and Information Technology Committee. Rhishikesh Pokhrel, affiliated with the UML party, has submitted his candidacy for the Public Account Committee.

Finance Committee receives the candidacy of Santosh Chalise of Nepali Congress while Raj Kishore Yadav of the Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal has filed his candidacy for the President of International Relations and Tourism Committee.

Similarly, Abdul Khan of Janamat and RSP's Ganesh Parajuli have submitted their candidacies for the Industry and Commerce, and Labour and Consumer Interest Committee respectively.

Bimala Subedi of Maoist Centre has filed the nomination for Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee while Arju Rana Deuba filed nomination for Agriculture, Cooperatives and Natural Resources Committee and Kiran Kumar Shah for Women and Social Welfare Affairs Committee, and Ramhari Khatiwada's has registered candidacy for the State Affairs and Good Governance Committee.


House of Representative (HoR) Leadership parliamentary elections thematic committees candidacies elections Nepali Congress CPN-UML CPN Maoist Centre Rastriya Swatantra Party Federal Parliament Secretariat
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal