Saturday Jun 25, 2022
Saturday Jun 25, 2022

Maharjan secures victory as LMC mayor for second term

2022 May 25, 7:17, Lalitpur
Chiribabu Maharjan Source: Facebook

Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Chiribabu Maharjan has been elected the mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City (LMC) for the second term.

CPN-UML's Manjali Shakya emerged victorious in the deputy mayoral post in LMC.

Maharjan secured 42,722 votes while his close contender Hari Krishna Byanjankar of CPN-UML received 24,560 votes. Likewise, deputy mayoral candidate Shakya got 25,085 votes to register her win. Her arch-rival Baburaj Bajracharya of CPN (Maoist Centre) gathered 18, 752 votes.

NC and UML have won equal 11 ward chairpersons in LMC. CPN (Maoist Centre) emerged victorious in three wards, CPN (Unified Socialist) in two wards and independent candidates in two wards.

Independent candidates Nirmal Tandukar and Ganesh KC won wards number 1 and 13. It took 11 days to publish the final results of the vote count in LMC. 


Nepali Congress CPN Maoist Centre CPN Unified Socialist Election news election result NepalNews nepal Latest news of Nepal Lalitpur CPN-UML
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal