Tuesday Apr 23, 2024
Tuesday Apr 23, 2024

National Assembly Member Election: Voting starts at 9 am

2022 Jan 26, 7:24,

Voting for 19 vacant posts of National Assembly members will be held from 9 am today. Voting will be held in eight polling stations and 14 centers in different states of the country from 9 am to 3 pm.

Spokesperson of the Election Commission Shaligram Poudel informed that all preparations for election management including peace and security and health standards have been completed. Voters have reached polling stations and designated cities.

In Province No. 1, polling booths have been allotted for the Chief and Deputy Chief of the Municipal Corporation, the Provincial Election Office, and the Crop Protection Laboratory for the Provincial Assembly members in Biratnagar, Mahendra Narayan Nidhi Bhawan in Madhesh Pradesh, and the auditorium of Industrial Area Management Limited for Bagmati Pradesh.

Similarly, polling stations have been set up at the Provincial Election Office Pokhara in Gandaki, staff meeting center Dang for Lumbini, Provincial Election Office Surkhet in Karnali, and Provincial Assembly Bhawan Dhangadhi for the Far Western Province.

As the term of office of eight members of the CPN (UML), four members of the CPN (Unified Socialist), four members of the CPN (Maoist Center), and three members of the Nepali Congress expire on March 6, the election for these vacancies is about to take place.

There is a provision that the election should be held 35 days before the expiration of the term of the member. Candidates of Nepali Congress, CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist), Rastriya Janamorcha, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Nepal, Nepal Mazdoor Kisan Party, Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal and Rastriya Prajatantra Party are in the fray.

There are 2,025 voters in the election including members of the state assembly and the chief and deputy chief of the municipality. In the election, the votes of the members of the state assembly will be 48 and the votes of the chief and deputy chief of the municipality will be 18. Candidates from seven women, three dalits, two persons with disabilities or minorities and seven other groups will be elected from the election.


politics National Assembly election Member election nation political local
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal