Friday Dec 1, 2023
Friday Dec 1, 2023

Eight candidates’ deposits seized in Baglung

2022 May 21, 19:52, Baglung

Deposits kept for the May 13 local level election by eight candidates of five political parties have been seized in Baglung Municipality for failing to secure at least 10 per cent of the total ballots.

As per the legal provision, candidates of the mayor and deputy mayor contesting the polls should secure 10 per cent of the vote cast to claim their deposit amount.

Of the total 40,418 votes, around 25,800 votes were cast in all 14 wards of the municipality.

Those failing to obtain a minimum of 10 percent votes are mayoral candidates Suraj Khadka (54 votes) of Bibeksheel Sajha Party, Bhakta Bahadur Rasaily of Nepal Dalit Party (63 votes), Dhana Acharya of Nepali Congress ‘BP’ (12 votes), CPN (ML) Manju Chhetri (26 votes) and Nali Prasad Acharya of Nepal Pariwar Dal (12 votes), the District Election Office, Baglung said.

Likewise, the deposit amount was seized from deputy mayoral candidates of Nepal Dalit Party Shanti Kumari Nepali, Jiban Acharya of Unified Socialist and independent candidate Tara Kumari Rijal.


Baglung CPN (ML) Unified Socialist Nepali Congress Election news Latest news of Nepal NepalNews nepal
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal