Sunday Aug 14, 2022
Sunday Aug 14, 2022

Nepal wins triangular T20 cricket series

2022 Apr 04, 17:47, Kathmandu
Nepal clinched the title by defeating PNG by 50 runs. Photo: Google

Nepal has won the triangular T20 International Cricket Series that concluded in the capital today. Hosts Nepal clinched the title by defeating Papua New Guinea by 50 runs.

In the match held at TU Cricket Ground, Papua New Guinea decided to field first after winning the toss. Nepal scored 168 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Dipendra Singh Airee hit five fours off 38 balls to score 54 runs while Karan KC hit 33 runs including a six and five fours off 12 balls to remain not out. Ashif Sheikh scored 29, Kushal Bhurtel 25, and Mohammad Adil Alam scored 15 runs.

For Papua New Guinea, Semo Comea took three wickets and Chad Super, Kabuwa Morea, and Riley Hekure took one wicket each.

Chasing the victory target of 169 runs, Papua New Guinea's innings came to an end with only 118 runs on the board. Sese Bau hit six sixes and a four-off 38 balls and scored the highest at 59 runs. Apart from Charles Amini who scored 15 runs, no other player from Papua New Guinea was able to contribute to the run chase.

In the bowling, Airee and KC took three wickets each while captain Sandeep Lamichhane took two wickets. Airee was announced the player of the match for his 54 runs and 3 wickets. He also won the player of the series award for scoring 255 runs and taking seven wickets in five games during the tournament.

Nepal, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia participated in the triangular T20 series


nepal T20 International Cricket Series Papua New Guinea Charles Amini Dipendra Singh Airee Malaysia
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal