Sunday Mar 3, 2024
Sunday Mar 3, 2024

NRNA Election Rival Rejects President's Win

2023 Oct 20, 17:42, Kathmandu
Representative Image

The dispute that arose in the Non Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) immediately after the announcement of Badri KC's election to the post of the NRNA President has not been resolved.

KC's competitors, Mahesh Shrestha and RK Sharma, rejected the election results following its announcement this morning, alleging that the election was rigged. Issuing a press release today, they said that the election results for the post of President could not be accepted.

"We had expected the election conducted by using technology for the first time in the NRNA's history would be free, fair and credible. However, the so-called results which have been rigged in a pre-planned manner are not acceptable to us," the press statement reads.

KC has bagged 1,378 votes while RK Sharma has polled 1,281 and Shrestha 1,225 votes in the election, according to the NRNA Election Committee.

Raj Regmi, Binod Shrestha, Hemraj Sharma, Robin SHERCHAN, Ram Sharan Simkhada and Khagendra Neupane have been elected to the post of Vice-President while Gauri Raj Joshi has been elected to the post of General Secretary, and Som Sapkota and Prabin Gurung to the post of Deputy General Secretary.

The results of the Vice President post has also been rejected, saying the votes secured by the vice-presidential candidate Dr Keshab Poudel is shown to be zero.

The two presidential candidates rejected the election results, alleging that the election was rigged by hacking the Australia-based company, Vero's online system.



NRNA election Badri KC's election results
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal