Tuesday Feb 27, 2024
Tuesday Feb 27, 2024

Parliamentary investigation special committee presented report

2022 Jul 29, 16:46,
File - A view of Federal Parliament building, in New Baneshwor, Kathmandu, on May 9, 2018. Photo: RSS

The Parliamentary Investigation Special Committee has submitted its report to the Speaker today. The committee was formed to probe into the alleged involvement of unauthorized persons in changing the tax rate in course of formulating the budget for the current fiscal year.

Committee president Laxman Lal Karna handed the report to Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota at the Federal Parliament Secretariat, New Baneshwor, the Speaker's secretariat said.

Karna also tabled the report in the meeting of the House of Representatives today. The committee prepared the report after consultations with various sides. It had recorded statement from former Finance Minister Janardan Sharma, the Finance Secretary and high ranking government officials involved in budget preparation. It was given 10 days to prepare the report but its term was extended seven days after it could not complete its work within the stipulated date. Its deadline had ended Thursday.

Finance Minister Sharma had resigned from his post after the parliament on July 6 formed an 11-member investigation special committee.

The committee formed under the convenorship of Karna comprised of Khaga Raj Adhikari, Dev Prasad Gurung, Pushpa Bhusal (Gautam), Pradeep Kumar Gyawali, Bhanubhakta Dhakal, Bimala BK, Shakti Bahadur Basnet, Sitaram Mahato, Sarala Kumari Yadav and Surendra Prasad Yadav.


tax fraud Janardan Sharma special committee parliamentary investigation
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal