Monday Aug 8, 2022
Monday Aug 8, 2022

Chief Minister of Lumbini Province Shankar Pokharel resigns

No-confidence motion had been filed against him.

2021 May 02, 11:45, LUMBINI
Photo: RSS

Chief Minister of Lumbini Province, Shankar Pokharel, has tendered his resignation before Province Chief Dharmanath Prasad Yadav today as per Article 161 (19) (A) of the Constitution of Nepal and Province Chief Yadav has approved the resignation, reads a press release issued by Spokesperson at the Office of the Province Chief, Chiranjivi Poudel.

Similarly, the incumbent Council of Ministers has been assigned to carry out the tasks of Council of Ministers until further notice as per the constitution.

Chief Whip of the party in Province Assembly, Bhumishwor Dhakal, said that the CPN (UML) will move ahead with a claim to form a government soon after the approval of the resignation of CM Pokharel.

Province Assembly members from CPN (Maoist Centre) and Nepali Congress had filed a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Pokharel a few days ago. He had reshuffled the cabinet after inducting four members of the Janata Samajbadi Party in the cabinet on the same day. A programme was scheduled to hold a discussion on the no-confidence motion filed against CM Pokharel at the Provincial Assembly today and voting was scheduled for Monday.

A meeting of the Lumbini Provincial Assembly is taking place at 1 pm today.


Chief Minister Lumbini Province Shankar Pokharel resign constitution nepal Spokesperson Council of Ministers Province Assembly Bhumishwor Dhakal CPN-UML CPN Maoist Centre Nepali Congress Janata Samajbadi Party
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal