Tuesday Oct 3, 2023
Tuesday Oct 3, 2023

HoR passes condolence motion

2022 Feb 16, 15:00, Kathmandu
This undated image shows the newly-appointed Speaker of the House of Representatives, Agni Prasad Sapkota.

Today's meeting of the House of Representatives has passed a condolence resolution on the demise of three former parliamentarians and members of the then Constituent Assembly who passed away at different times.

In the meeting, the proposal submitted by Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota separately was passed unanimously. The meeting has paid tribute to the bereaved family on the demise of Jagat Bahadur Tajpuriya, a member elected from the Nepali Congress in the Constituent Assembly in 2064 BS. Tajpuriya died at the age of 78 on Saturday.

Similarly, the meeting also passed a mourning resolution in the National Assembly on the demise of Laxmidas Manandhar, a member elected from the then CPN (UML) in 2058 BS. Manandhar died at the age of 93 on January 20.

A similar meeting has expressed its condolences over the death of Dr. Duman Singh Thapa, a member elected from the then UML in the Constituent Assembly of 2070 BS. Thapa died on January 3 at the age of 63.

The meeting observed a minute's silence wishing eternal peace to the departed soul. The next meeting of the House of Representatives will be held on March 20 at 1 pm.


House of Representatives Constituent Assembly Agni Prasad Sapkota Jagat Bahadur Tajpuriya
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal