Tuesday May 17, 2022
Tuesday May 17, 2022

CPN UML to do its best to maintain unity

2021 Jun 01, 15:21, Kathmandu
This image shwos CPN-UML members attending Standing Committee meeting at Prime Minsiter KP Sharma oli's official residence in Baluwatar, Kathmandu, on May 20, 2021. Photo: PM's secretariat

The Standing Committee meeting of the CPN UNL that was held at the prime minister’s residence in Baluwatar today has decided not to take any action against the 12 lawmakers from whom the party had sought clarifications. The meeting decided not to take any action against them so as to be able to maintain the party unity till the last moment.

Spokesperson of the party, Pradeep Gyawali, mentioned that the meeting decided to try all that is possible till the last moment to maintain the unity of the party. Hence, the Standing Committee decided not to take any action against the 12 lawmakers today, he added.

The 12 lawmakers from whom the party has sought clarifications are Surendra Pandey, Birodh Khatiwada, Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Ghanashyam Bhusal, Som Prasad Pandey, Krishna Lal Maharjan, Jhapat Rawal, Bhawani Prasad Khapung, Yagya Sunuwar, Metmani Chaudhary, Deepak Prakash Bhatta, and Narayan Khatiwada.

Gyawali also informed that the Standing Committee had shown flexibility so that the party unity could be maintained. He also said that talks are being held through different ways to unite the party. He also mentioned that the taskforce that had been formed earlier to hold talks between the warring factions would be reorganised again.

The taskfore initially comprised of five members from Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s faction and five from Madhav Kumar Nepal’s side. Oli is also the chairperson of the party.


Standing Committee CPN-UML CPN UML unity CPN-UMl Standing Committee
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal