Tuesday Mar 5, 2024
Tuesday Mar 5, 2024

PM Oli to face vote of confidence today

Nepal-Khanal faction of CPN UML, Nepali Congress, and CPN (Maoist Centre) against PM Oli-led government

2021 May 10, 11:10, Kathmandu
Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli addresses the second meeting of CPN-UML 10th National General Convention Organising Committee held at the former's official residence in Baluwatar, Kathmandu, on April 23, 2021. Photo: RSS

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli will be facing a vote of confidence motion at the Parliament today. The prime minister will be doing so at the special session of the House of Representatives (HoR) which is taking place at 1 pm today.

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari, on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers, had summoned the House meeting for today as the prime minister plans to obtain the vote of confidence from the parliament.

The Prime Minister Oli-led government is in minority at the moment after the CPN (Maoist Centre) decided to formally withdraw its support to the incumbent government. The Nepal Communist Party was forged after the merger between the CPN UML and CPN (Maoist Centre) on May 17, 2018. However, a decision made by the Supreme Court on March 7, 2021 had shattered the unity between the two parties.

Earlier, Bal Krishna Khand, the Nepali Congress parliamentary party’s chief whip, had said that the voting process would be advanced on Monday after the leaders of the political parties present their opinions in the Business Advisory Committee on the vote of confidence motion put forth by Prime Minister Oli.

The prime minister is allowed to seek a vote of confidence at the parliament any time the prime minister wishes to do so. Though the parliament has a total of 275 members there are only 271 parliamentarians at the moment.

The Nepal-Khanal faction of the CPN UML, Nepali Congress and the CPN (Maoist Centre) are against Prime Minister Oli-led government. To give continuity to the government PM Oli will require 136 votes in his favour today. However, as per reports about 30 parliamentarians of the Nepal-Khanal faction are against PM Oli. Moreover, it has also been reported that Upendra Yadav of the Janata Samajwadi Party, who has already decided to go against PM Oli also has 18 to 22 parliamentarians siding with him. 


vote of confidence Nepal-Khanal faction CPN-UML Nepali Congress CPN Maoist Centre Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli Parliament special session House of Representatives HoR President Bidhya Devi Bhandari Janata Samawadi Party
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal