Friday Jun 14, 2024
Friday Jun 14, 2024

Border crossings with China, including Kimathangka re-opening today

2024 May 25, 13:03,

Following continuous diplomatic efforts by the Government of Nepal, most of the border crossings with trade points with China are re-opening for service from today. This includes the Kimathangka transit at Sankhuwasabha.

The border crossings were shut down by the Chinese government in wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. They are being re-opened after four years of negotiations, dialogue and agreement between the high political leadership of Nepal and China.

A total 14 border trade points in the northern region, including Kimathangka have remained closed for the past four years. An agreement was reached to gradually open all the trade points in the Nepal-China border region during the official visit to the People's Republic of China by Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Narayankaji Shrestha last April.

The Rasuwagadhi-Kerung, Tatopani-Jhangmu, Yari-Puran and Nechung-Lichi (Korala) trade points have already come into operation. Tiptala border crossing in Taplejung has also resumed operations from Friday.

Meanwhile, a delegation led by DPM and Foreign Minister Shrestha including Chief Minister of Koshi Province Hikmat Kumar Karki, Joint Secretaries of Ministry of Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs, Chief District Officer, High-ranking officials of security agencies in the district are going to Kimathangka today to participate in the opening ceremony of the re-operation of all 14 trade points on the Nepal-China border including Kimathangka.

Deputy Prime Minister Shrestha will be joined by Vice President of China's Tibet Autonomous Region, Silang Nima, to announce the re-operation of the trade points including Kimathangka-Chentang during a ceremony later today.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has shared that the Chinese side will open seven different border crossings from today and other border crossings will be opened gradually. Border crossings with Darchula, Dolpa, Mustang, Gorkha, Dolakha, Taplejung and Sankhuwasabha districts will be opened from today.

Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal