Saturday Oct 1, 2022
Saturday Oct 1, 2022

SC acquits ex-CJs on contempt of court case

2021 Oct 02, 9:24, Kathmandu
Lawyers representing Speaker of the House of Representatives, Agni Prasad Sapkota, have started placing their arguments before the constitutional bench of the Supreme Court, in Kathmandu, on July 4, 2021.

The Supreme Court (SC) has decided to revoke a contempt of court case filed against four former Chief Justices.

A divisional bench of Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana and Justice Sapana Malla on Friday decided that there are no adequate bases on contempt cases filed against ex-Chief Justices, Meen Bahadur Rayamajhi, Anupraj Sharma, Kalyan Shrestha, and Sushila Karki.

With the decision, the ex-four CJs got clean chit on the contempt case. SC Spokesperson Baburam Dahal shared the apex court's decision that the claim for contempt of court case filed against ex-CJs was not sufficient.

The full text of the court decision is yet to be made publicly available.

A writ petition was filed at the apex court accusing four ex-CJs of contempt of court for issuing a statement against the dissolution of the House of Representatives (HoR) while a case against the dissolution was sub-judice at the apex court.

The divisional bench came up with a decision after a debate on the petition filed by advocates Lochan Bhattarai and Dhanjit Basnet.


SC Supreme Court contempt of court case former Chief Justices Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana Justice Sapana Malla Apex Court House of Representatives
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal