Thursday Jun 20, 2024
Thursday Jun 20, 2024

By-election: Voters in Ilam constituency-2 excited to elect their lawmaker

2024 Apr 08, 11:24,

By-election: Voters in Ilam constituency-2 excited to elect their lawmaker

Ilam, April 8: The voters in Ilam constituency number 2 are excited to elect their representative to the House of Representatives, the lower house of the Federal Parliament. The by-election is taking place on the 27th of this month.

The by-election is being held here following the death on September 12, 2023 of Subas Chandra Nembang who was elected the HoR member from this constituency.

Altogether 20 candidates are in fray in the by-election.

Kuber Rai of Mahamai, Ilam Municipality-8 is excited with the by-election vivacity in the constituency these days.

"We had no representative to voice our pressing problems like determining the price of tea, market for our dairy products and the poor condition of the Mechi highway in the federal parliament for the last seven months," he said, adding that they are eagerly waiting for the by-election to choose their representative for the same.

Bishal Dhakal of Sandakpur Rural Municipality-3 echoed Rai, saying, "All the candidates are asking for votes visiting the doorsteps of the electorate. We are telling them that we will give our votes to them. But the voters will elect the qualified candidate."

Stating that the electorates have many problems and complaints, he said they will press their elected representative to raise these issues in parliament and have them addressed.

Raghunath Bhandari of Phakphokthum Rural Municipality-4 said he will vote for the candidate who can bring about improvements in the condition of roads, health services, education and agriculture. "The roads are lying unrepaired, there is no subsidy for farmers, we are deprived of quality health services and education. The representative to be elected from the by-election should address these demands," he added.

Arpana Paudel of Chulachuli Rural Municipality-1 said that she will give her vote to the candidate who have come with a positive thinking and are genuinely committed to the development of the constituency. "We cannot blindly support the candidates in the name of independents or new political party," she added.

Among the registered candidates are Suhang Nembang, the common candidate of the CPN (UML) and CPN (Maoist Centre) alliance, Dambar Bahadur Khadka of Nepali Congress, Milan Limbu of Rastriya Swatantra Party, Prem Bahadur Limbu of the Janamat Party, and Shyam Bahadur Darji of the Nepal Workers and Peasants' Party.

Additionally, Mani Bahadur Limbu of Mongol National Organisation, Dhanraj Rana Magar of National Republic Nepal, Laxmi Gurung of Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Jit Bahadur Rai of CPN (Unified Socialist), Jayawant Bikram Shah from National Liberation Movement Nepal, Ganesh Bahadur Chauhan of RPP Nepal, and Resham Bahadur Sunar Nepali of Nepal Janata Dal have also filed nominations.

The independent candidates include Dak Prasad Gautam, Manoj Niraula, Arjun Kumar Shahi, Keshab Kumar Chapagain, Dipesh Bohora, Yogendra Gurung, Raj Basyal and Dakendra Singh Thegim representing Pahichanbadi (pro-identity group), according to the Office of the Election Officer.

The Election Commission has announced that April 9 is the day for publishing the final list of candidates and allocating election symbols to them. The by-election will take place across 79 polling stations and 149 polling centers from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm. 

Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal