Saturday Aug 20, 2022
Saturday Aug 20, 2022

Petitions filed against Oli’s behaviour during swearing-in

2021 May 17, 19:46, Kathmandu
President Bidhya Devi Bhandari administers the oath of office and secrecy to appointed Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli amid a function organised at Rastrapati Bhawan, Sheetal Niwas in Kathmandu, on Friday, May 14, 2021. Photo: RSS

Four writ petitions have been filed demanding that the oath taken by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli be scrapped.

Senior advocate Dr Chandra Kanta Gyawali and advocate Lokendra Oli, Nawaraj Adhikari, Santosh Bhandari and Raj Kumar Suwal filed separate writ petitions at the Supreme Court. A hearing on the writ petitions has been scheduled for Tuesday.

The writ petitions state that some terminologies were not pronounced by PM Oli while taking oath of office and secrecy, which is unconstitutional, and the oath of office cannot be taken with use of self-fulfilling terminologies.

Likewise, the writs demand nullification of appointment of seven ministers who are not members of the Federal Parliament.

The Office of the President, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, Minister for Home Affairs Ram Bahadur Thapa, Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies Lekhraj Bhatta, Minister for Urban Development Minister Prabhu Sah, Minister for Drinking Water and Sanitation Mani Thapa, Minister for Labour, Employment and Social Security Gaurishankar Chaudhary, Minister for Youth and Sports Dawa Lama and others have been named as defendants in the writ petitions.


writ petition oath of PM PM KP Sharma Oli Supreme Court President Council of Ministers
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal