Sunday Mar 26, 2023
Sunday Mar 26, 2023

Influential leaders criticized after losing

2022 May 21, 12:23, Khotang
Image: Google Maps

Candidates of different political parties have won in the local level elections held on May 13 in the wards and municipalities of influential leaders of the states and the center. After the victory of another party's candidate in his hometown and municipality in Khotang, which has ten local levels, the state ministers and central level leaders are being criticized within the party.

Udim Bahadur Rai of the CPN (Maoist Center) and Rupesh Rai of the Nepali Congress have won the election. In the first local level election held in 2017 AD, UML won both the posts.

While Udim Bahadur won with 3,728 votes, Kavita got 3,690 votes. Rupesh, who won the Deputy Chief, got 3,763 votes while Rajan got 3,310 votes. UML's Chief Whip Bhattarai's hometown Khotang Bazaar has been won by UML's Shiva Prasad Phunyal. UML candidate Phunyal has been elected as the ward chairman after trailing Congress' Prem Thapa by 165 votes.

Similarly, UML candidate has won both the chief and deputy chief of the house of Bhupendra Rai, the general secretary of Nepali Congress of province 1. Lokendra Rai of the CPN (UML) won the election after defeating the Congress candidate Naindra Rai by 641 votes. While Lokendra won with 2,803 votes, Naindra got 2,162 votes. UML's Aruna Thapa Magar defeated Congress' Rama Katawal by 421 votes. Aruna won with 2,733 votes while her nearest rival Rama got 2,312 votes. In the 2017 AD election, both the chief and deputy chief of the village municipality were won by the Nepali Congress.

Ravi Prakash Rai of the Nepali Congress (NC) has been elected as the head of Sakela village municipality, the hometown of UCPN (Maoist) central leader and Minister for Drinking Water, Irrigation and Energy Ram Kumar Rai. Maoist central candidate Birsika Rai has been elected as the deputy chief. While Ravi Prakash won with 1,850 votes, Arjun Kumar Khadka of the UCPN (Maoist) got 1,772 votes. Khadka is also the outgoing chief of the municipality.

Similarly, CPN (Unified Socialist) leader and Social Development Minister of State 1 Rajan Rai's hometown Kepilasgadhi village municipality has been won by Congress president Samir Rai. Samir Rai of the Nepali Congress (NC) defeated UCPN (Maoist) candidate Maiti Raj Rai by 436 votes. While Samir won with 2,244 votes, Maitiraj got 1,808 votes. Janata Samajwadi candidate Gururaj Rai has won the post of deputy chief of the village municipality.

While Gururaj won by getting 1,983 votes, his nearest rival Maiya Sunuwar of UML got 1,761 votes. Tularam Rai of the Unified Socialists has won in Baspani, the hometown of Minister Rai.

Maoist's Khagendra Rai has won in UML central member and former social development minister of state 1 Usha Kala Rai's ward Diktel Rupakot Mazhuwagadi Municipality-4, Khalle. In the previous election, UCPN (Maoist) candidate Khagendra defeated UML candidate Dilli Kumar Rai.

Similarly, Bhupendra Basnet of UML has won in Diprung Chuichumma Gaonpalika-3 Chhorambu, ward of Nepali Congress District President Bishnukumar Rai. While Basnet won with 395 votes, Mahendra Rai of the Nepali Congress got 255 votes.

In the district which has ten local levels, the Nepali Congress has won six local level elections and the UCPN (M) and UML have won two / two local level elections. In the previous local level election held in 2017 AD, UML had won five seats, Congress four and UCPN (Maoist) one.


Khotang election results election nepal Influential leaders criticized after losing
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal