Saturday Jun 25, 2022
Saturday Jun 25, 2022

NC clinches mayor post, JSP deputy mayor in Nepalgunj

2022 May 20, 13:35, Nepalgunj
A view of a busy road in Nepalgunj Sub-metropolis in Banke district. Photo: Nepalgunj Sub-metropolis

The candidates from the ruling five-party alliance have won the local election in Nepalgunj Sub-metropolitan City. Nepali Congress' Prashanta Bista has been elected the mayor with 23,460 votes. His closest contender Pashupati Dayal Mishra of the CPN (UML) polled 11,675, Assistant Election Officer Nagendra Chaulagain said.

Similarly, Nanda Lal Vaishya of the Rashtriya Prajatantra Party secured 7,598 votes in the election for the mayor post.

Kamaruddin Rai of the Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has won the deputy mayor post. He secured 17, 950 votes defeating Shanti Dhakal of the UML who bagged 10,915. Bindu Ghartimagar of the RPP got 10,135 votes.

The total number of voters in Nepalgunj Sub-metropolis is 81,794 and the voter turnout in the local election on May 13 was 61,205. One thousand forty-nine votes were invalid in the sub-metropolis.

JSP has won in six wards, the Nepali Congress in five, the CPN (UML) in five, Maoist Center in four and RPP in three wards of the sub-metropolis.


Nepalgunj Nepali Congress CPN-UML Rashtriya Prajatantra Party Janata Samajbadi Party Maoist Center NepalNews election result Election news Latest news of Nepal
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal