Monday Jul 22, 2024
Monday Jul 22, 2024

NC election: 5 Central Members elected from Chitwan

2021 Dec 24, 12:38, Chitwan

For the first time since the establishment of the Nepali Congress Party, Chitwan has got a central member. Five central members have been elected from the district in the 14th general convention of the Nepali Congress.

Earlier, former district president Krishnalal Sapkota was the invited central member but no elected member has been elected so far. Former District President of the Nepali Congress Tek Prasad Gurung, Member of the House of Representatives Umesh Shrestha, then Constituent Assembly Member Anjani Shrestha, Leader Dinesh Koirala, and Shanti Pariyar BK have been elected from the 14th General Convention. Thirteen candidates from the district had filed their candidacies at the Center.

Gurung, who has been the president of Chitwan five times in the politics of Nepali Congress, has succeeded in reaching the central leadership from the Adivasi Janajati quota. Gurung, who has been active in Congress politics since 1961, had helped the then-party president Sushil Koirala to win the 2014 AD election from Chitwan by giving up his ticket.

Shrestha, who entered Congress politics from a similar business background, is currently the caretaker Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office. Shrestha, who has been the Minister of State for Health for some time, is a big investor in the banking sector along with the best education, health, hydropower, and tourism businesses. Shrestha has also succeeded in reaching the central responsibility of the party by representing Chitwan. Shrestha, who was also a member of the party's general committee at the party's 13th general convention, was elected as a general convention representative from Chitwan Constituency No. 3. Shrestha, who was also a member of the then Constituent Assembly, is now a member of the House of Representatives.

Leader Anjani Shrestha, who has been active in Congress politics from the Nepal Students Union, has also been elected as a central member. Shrestha, who joined the Central Committee from the Adivasi Janajati quota, became a member of the Constituent Assembly from the proportional party after the then Constituent Assembly election. She was also the president of the Independent Students' Union from Padma Kanya Campus.

In the local level election held in 2017/18, leader Dinesh Koirala was the chief candidate of Bharatpur Municipal Corporation. He withdrew his candidacy after coordination with the CPN (Maoist Center). After withdrawing his ticket in the local level election, he became the candidate for the state assembly seat from Chitwan-3 in the next election. Koirala started his political journey from the Nepal Students Union. He became the national chairman of JCI in 2008.

Similarly, Pariyar is the president of Dalit Association Chitwan, which is active in mainstream politics from student politics. Pariyar has been raising the issue of the Dalit community for the first time and has succeeded in reaching the Central Committee. Congress Chitwan president Jit Narayan Shrestha was defeated by a narrow margin.


election Nepali Congress Chitwan 14th general convention mainstream politics Bharatpur Municipal Corporation
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal