Saturday Jan 28, 2023
Saturday Jan 28, 2023

Publication of final list of candidates for Congress GC

2021 Dec 12, 17:28, Kathmandu
This image shows Nepali Congress Central Party Office in Sanepa Lalitpur in January 2020. Photo courtesy: Netra Tamang

The Nepali Congress has published the final list of candidates for office bearers and central member posts in the 14th General Convention. The Election Committee has posted the final list of candidates in the Rastriya Sabha Griha.

Accordingly, there are five candidates for president, seven candidates for (two) vice-presidential posts, six for (two) general secretaries, and 19 for (eight) joint general ministers.

Likewise, As many as 548 candidates had registered for 134 posts including office bearers and central members of the new Central Committee. Out of them, two candidates for office bearers and 55 candidates for central members have withdrawn their nominations.

Meanwhile, the two central members of Province 2 are unopposed.

The list of candidates for Presidential posts are:

1) NC president Sher Bahadur Deuba

2) Bimalendra Nidhi

3) Prakashman Singh

4) Shekhar Koirala

5) Kalyan Kumar Gurung

Out of them, one has to be elected as the party's new president.

Similarly, Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar, Purna Bahadur Khadka, Mahesh Acharya, Sujata Koirala, Chandra Bhandari, Dhanraj Gurung, and Dibyashwori Shah will be vying for the posts of two vice-presidents while six candidates Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, Minendra Rijal, Bishwa Prakash Sharma, Gagan Kumar Thapa, Pradeep Poudel and Rajaram Karki are to contend for the seats of two general secretaries.

Kamala Pant and Deena Mahalaxmi Upadhyay are the candidacies for the joint-general secretary (towards woman quota) while Man Bahadur Bishwakarma, Jeevan Pariyar, and Ganga Sunar have their candidacies for the joint-general secretary (towards Dalit quota).

Bikash Lama and Bhishmaraj Angdembe will be competing for the join-general secretary (towards the indigenous nationalities quota) while Dev Raj Chalise and Kishore Singh Rathor have their candidacies for the post of joint- general secretary (towards Khas Arya quota).

The candidacy of Ranjeet Karna, Ram Krishna Yadav, and Mahendra Yadav remains for one joint general secretary post towards the Madhesi category. Similarly, Farmullah Mansoor and Sheikh Wokil are the candidates for one joint general secretary post towards the Muslim cluster.

Tejulal Chaudhary and Umakanta Chaudhary are competing for the one joint general secretary post under the Tharu category after Surendra Prasad Chaudhary took back his nomination.

From the backward region cluster, Badri Prasad Pandey, Jeevan Bahadur Shahi, and Chetraj Bajal are vying for the one joint general secretary post. 

The total number of delegates in this General Convention is four thousand 743.  They were elected from 165 federal electoral constituencies and the party's sister organizations, well-wisher organizations, and the public relations committee abroad. The voting will take place from 8 am to 5 pm on Monday. 


Nepali Congress Final Lists Office Bearers Rastriya Sabha Griha Central Members central committee Party President general secretary Tharu Muslim Backward Constituency Delegates NC 14th general convention
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal