Tuesday May 28, 2024
Tuesday May 28, 2024

Split groups of UML, JSP-N register new parties

2021 Aug 18, 19:54, Kathmandu
This image shows the building of Election Commission Nepal at Jamal, kathmandu in March 2017. Photo Courtesy: Sushan Dhital

The CPN UML faction led by Madhav Kumar Nepal has formally split. The group reached the Election Commission Wednesday and applied for party registration under the name — CPN UML (Socialist).

EC Spokesperson Raj Kumar Shrestha informed that an application for new party CPN UML (Socialist) was registered at EC. The UML (Socialist) party has 22 federal lawmakers (HoR and National Assembly) and 58 central members, according to leader Rajendra Pasad Pande.

It has proposed a 95-member central committee under the chairmanship of senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal. The party got the registration number 433.

Similarly, on Wednesday itself, another group of leaders split from Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal  registered new party under the name — Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal (Democratic). 

The party has proposed a 24-member executive committee led by leader Mahantha Thakur. This party has 14 lawmakers and 14 central members.

The new party got the registration number 434.

Two new political parties were registered in the EC on the day the government brought the Political Party (2nd Amendment) Ordinance, 2078.

(With inputs from RSS)


Madhav Kumar Nepal Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal (Democratic) Mahantha Thakur JSP CPN-UML CPN UML (Socialist)
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal