Thursday Nov 30, 2023
Thursday Nov 30, 2023

UML 10th National Congress: Voting over, results to out in three hours

2021 Nov 30, 14:15, Chitwan

The voting process that kicked off from 4 am today under the ongoing 10th National Congress of CPN UML at Chitwan district has concluded.

CPN UML, Chitwan district Chairperson Parbati Rawal shared that a total of 1,092 votes were cast in the election. There are altogether 2,153 representatives for the National Congress. Election for chairperson, vice-chair, and secretary have been over.

Likewise, the election was held for central committee members for the open category, province no 1 women, inclusive sector Dalit, Tharu (open), backward area, and Sudurpaschim province's woman member. Candidates, according to Rawal, were unanimously elected for other posts.

KP Sharma Oli and Bhim Rawal have filed their candidacy for the party's chair. Seven candidates have vied for seven vice-chairperson posts and nine for seven secretary posts.

Yubaraj Gyawali, Astalaxmi Shakya, Surendra Pandey, Ram Bahadur Thapa, Subash Nembang, Bishnu Poudel, and Ghanashyam Bhusal were hopefuls for vice-chair.

Likewise, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Raghubir Mahaseth, Chhabilal Bishwakarma, Lekhraj Bhatta, Yogesh Bhattarai, Gokarna Bista, Padma Aryal, Bhim Acharya, and Tanka Karki have contested for secretary post.

A total of 100 candidates had filed their candidacy for 84 posts for central committee members under the open category. Among the six posts for member (open) for Province No 1, seven have announced their candidacy. Four women candidates have contested in the three posts for women in Province no 1.

Likewise, nine candidates are contesting the eight members' posts under the Dalit open category of the inclusive sector, six candidates are vying for five members' posts under the Tharu open category, four candidates are competing for three members' posts under the backward region category and five candidates are contesting for three central member posts under the women category in Sudurpaschim province.

Seven persons have filed candidacy for six members under the Province 1 (Geographical Region) open category while four parsons have filed candidacy for three women members of the same province.

Similarly, nine people have contested the election for eight members of the Dalit open category under the inclusive sector, six people for the five members under the Tharu open category, four people for the three members under the backward region, and five people are vying for three women central members under the Sudurpaschim province.

The CPN (UML) 10th National Congress is electing a 301-member central committee. The National Congress was inaugurated on November 26 on the bank of the Narayani River in Narayangadh. The closed session of the National Congress took place at Sauraha. The election has been held today after efforts to elect the office-bearers and the central committee through consensus failed.


CPN-UML UML National Congress Chitwan Narayani River Sudurpaschim Province Candidacy Secretary Post Yogesh Bhattarai Narayangadh central committee Consensus election UML General Convention
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal