Saturday Aug 13, 2022
Saturday Aug 13, 2022

UML's local polls candidates: new faces in Itahari

2022 Apr 24, 11:45, Itahari
This undated image shows the office of Itahari Sub-metropolitan City in Itahari, Sunsari district. Phto: Itahari Sub-metropolis

As Nepal gears up for the local polls slated for May 13, CPN (UML) has finalized its candidates for the two Sub-Metropolitan Cities of Province 1.

The five-party ruling alliance has not yet finalized names of mayoral and deputy mayor candidates for these two sub-metropolitan cities of the province.

UML has picked incumbent Itahari UML chair Yam Subba as mayoral candidate in Itahari. For deputy mayoral candidacy, UML has picked Sangita Chaudhary. An indigenous inhabitant of Itahari, Chaudhary is incumbent joint-secretary at All Nepal Women's Association (ANWA) Itahari chapter. ANWA is UML's sister organization for women. Both Subba and Chaudhary are new faces for local levels. They have not worked in any local level positions before.

Likewise UML has picked Manju Bhandari as mayoral candidate in Dharan. Bhandari is incumbent deputy mayor of Dharan. She had also worked as the acting mayor of Dharan from 2075 BS to 2076 BS. UML has chosen Padam Prashad Limbu as the deputy mayor of Dharan. Limbu has also worked as Ward Number 19 chairperson during the time of mayor of Manoj Menyangbo from 2054 BS to 2059 BS.

Dharan and Itahari are the only Sub-Metropolitan Cities in Province 1. UML has fielded its woman candidacy for Sub-Metropolitan City for the first time for the mayoral position. 


CPN-UML Province 1 All Nepal Women's Association ANWA Dharan Local Level election Voting Five-party ruling alliance ruling parties
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal