Tuesday May 21, 2024
Tuesday May 21, 2024

President Bhandari bids farewell to sportspersons taking part in Olympics

Nepali team comprises five sportspersons and four coaches

2021 Jul 16, 7:11, Kathmandu
President Bidya Devi Bhandari Interacts with the heads of the various constitutional bodies, secretaries of several ministries and representatives of civic societies at the Office of President, Shital Niwas on Thursday, February 18, 2021. Photo: RSS

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari bade farewell to a team of Nepali sportspersons in the upcoming 32nd Summer Olympic to be held in Tokyo, Japan.

At a programme organised at the Office of President in Sheetal Niwas, Kathmandu on Thursday, President Bhandari extended her best wishes to the athletes.

On the occasion, President Bhandari handed over the Nepali national flag to member-secretary at the National Sports Council Ramesh Kumar Silwal, who is also the Chef de Mission of the Nepali team.

Nepali team comprises five sportspersons and four coaches. The team has additional 17 members.

Gaurika Singha and Alex Shah will compete in swimming, Saraswati Chaudhary in athletics, Kalpana Pariyar in shooting and Sonia Bhatta in Judo.

Similarly, Shankar Karki, Asim Yadav, Surya Narayan Shrestha and Indra Kumari Malla are the coaches for players in swimming, shooting, Judo and athletics respectively.

Gaurika Singh and Alex Shah will hold Nepal’s flag in the inaugural of the Summer Olympics to be held from 23 July to 8 August.


Nepali sportspersons President Bidhya Devi Bhandari 32nd Summer Olympic Tokyo Olympics Tokyo Japan Nepali athletes team Gaurika Singha Alex Shah Saraswati Chaudhary Kalpana Pariyar Sonia Bhatta
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal