Thursday Nov 30, 2023
Thursday Nov 30, 2023

HoR Speaker calls for all-party meet today

2021 Sep 13, 11:14, Kathmandu
Speaker of the House of Representatives, Agni Prasad Sapkota, has applauded the reinstatement of the House by the Supreme Court.

Speaker of the House of Representatives Agni Prasad Sapkota has called for an all-party meeting to end the deadlock that has surfaced in the parliament.

The meeting has been called for 2:30 pm, Monday at Lhotse Hall in the New Baneswor-based federal parliament building. According to the Speaker’s Secretariat, the all-party meeting would be focused on contemporary issues, including ending deadlock underway in the parliament.

It is shared that Prime Minister and Nepali Congress (NC)’s parliamentary party leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN-UML’s parliamentary party leader KP Sharma Oli, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s parliamentary party leader Pushpa Kamal Dahal and CPN (Unified Socialist)’s parliamentary party leader Madhav Kumar Nepal have been invited to the meeting.

Likewise, other invitees are Janata Samajwadi Party’s parliamentary party leader Upendra Yadav, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party leader Mahantha Thakur, Durga Poudel from Janamorcha, Prem Suwal from Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, and Rajendra Lingden from Rastriya Prajatantra Party.

The parliamentary proceedings have been affected due to obstruction by main opposition CPN-UML since the convening of the current session of the parliament. Though the parliament meeting was held twice on Sunday, it was postponed up to Tuesday.

In an effort to remove the deadlock, Speaker Sapkota on Sunday held discussions with the main opposition party’s chief whip Bishal Bhattarai, whip Shanta Chaudhary, and parliamentary member Khagaraj Adhikari.

CPN-UML parliamentary members have been chanting slogans demanding prohibition to the Members of Parliament (MPs) facing party action to participate in parliamentary proceedings


Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota all party meeting CPN(UML) CPN(Maoist Center) CPN (US) KP Oli Madhav Kumar Nepal Sher Bahadur Deuba Prime Minister House of Representatives
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal