Friday Aug 12, 2022
Friday Aug 12, 2022

New ministers sworn-in in Lumbini

2021 Oct 10, 16:54, Kathmandu

The cabinet has been expanded in Lumbini. About two months after the formation of the government, Chief Minister Kul Prasad KC has formed a 17-member cabinet.

Ten people, including seven new ministers and three ministers of state, were sworn in on Sunday after a split between the coalition parties in the union and the states. State Chief Amik Sherchan administered the oath of office to the newly appointed minister.

From the Nepali Congress, Bir Bahadur Rana of Palpa has become the Minister of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, Surendra Bahadur Hamal of Banke has become the Minister of Forest, Environment and Land Conservation, and Basiuddin Khan of Rupandehi has become the Minister of Education, Science, Youth and Sports.

Similarly, Arjun Kumar Shrestha of Dang and Rina Nepal BK of Kapilvastu have been sworn in as ministers of state from the Nepali Congress. Shrestha is the Minister of State for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation and Rina is the Minister of State for Tourism, Rural and Urban Development. Similarly, Tilak Ram Sharma of Bardiya has been made Minister for Internal Affairs and Communications and Indrajit Tharu of Dang has been made Minister for Health, Population and Family Welfare.

From the Maoists, Bimala Kumari Wali Khatri of Dang has become the Minister of State for Health, Population and Family Welfare and Sushma Yadav of Kapilvastu has become the Minister of State for Agriculture, Food Technology and Land Management. Rama Gharti of Palpa has become the Minister for Law, Women, Children and Senior Citizens from the CPN-Unified Socialist Party.

A new government was formed in Lumbini on August 28 under the leadership of KC of the Maoist Center. The UCPN (M) has formed a 17-member cabinet from seven members with the participation of the Center, Congress, JSP and independent groups. Lumbini has more jumbo cabinets than any of the other seven states. 


Kul Prasad KC Lumbini Chief Minister Amik Sherchan Bir Bahadur Rana Minister of Energy Water Resources and Irrigation
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal