Saturday Jul 20, 2024
Saturday Jul 20, 2024

NSJF Pulsar Sports Award 2023

2023 Mar 08, 11:13, Kathmandu
Image Source: Facebook

Anjan Bista, a member of the Nepali National men's Football Team, has been awarded the Best Sportsperson of the Year under the male category in the 19th edition of NSJF Pulsar Sports Award-2023 BS.

In the event organized by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) here on Tuesday, Bista was feted with that award. The nominees for the Award were cricketer Kushal Bhurtel and Deependra Singh Airee, footballer Kiran Chemjong and badminton player Prince Dahal.

Bista was awarded in recognition of his significant contributions to the 13th South Asian Games.

Similarly, volleyball player Aruna Shahi got the Best Female Sportsperson of the Year. Competing with her in the same category were boxer Punam Rawal, athlete Pushpa Bhandari and cricketers Sita Rana Magar and Rubina Chettri.

Shahi played an important role in securing Nepal a win in the Asian Central Zone Volleyball Competition held in Bangladesh.

Likewise, Manish Dangi has been declared the Best Youth Sportsperson of the Year. He defeated his contenders' footballer Preeti Rai, boxer Tshiring Wangdi Sherpa, Badminton Rashila Maharjan and volleyball player Usha Bhandari.

Moreover, Former coach of National Football Abdul Almutairi was honored with the Best Coach of the year award. Other contenders were cricket coach Dave Whatmore, para taekwondo coach Kabiraj Negi, boxing coach Deepak Maharjan and volleyball's Jagadish Prasad Bhatta.

Olympian sportsperson Raghuraj Onta was feted with the Lifetime Achievements Award at the event while Special Award was conferred on Dan Bahadur Tamang and Maya Devi Moktan.

Tamang and Moktan are parents to champion of badminton Ratna Jit Tamang, Saradevi Tamang and Nashladevi Tamang.

Volleyball player Usha Bhandari bagged the People's Choice Award defeating contenders footballer Anjan Bista, cricketer Aasif Sheikh, tennis player Avilasha Bista and swimmer Dubana Lama.

Furthermore, Qatari journalist Mohammad Hiji was awarded the Asian Sports Journalist Award for his profound contributions to sports journalism for over three decades.

Each winner of the Best Sportsperson of the Year under the male and female categories, People's Choice, Best Coach and Best Youth Sportsperson received a motorcycle while winners in other categories got Rs 50,000 each.



NSJF Nepal Sports Journalists Forum Pulsar Sports Award Anjan Bista Aruna Shahi Manish Dangi Abdul Almutairi Raghuraj Onta Usha Bhandari Mohammad Hiji
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal