Saturday Dec 9, 2023
Saturday Dec 9, 2023

All-party meet urges opposition UML to end parliament deadlock

2021 Sep 30, 14:18, Kathmandu
The leaders of ruling coalition attend a meeting at Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba's official residence in Baluwatar, Kathmandu.

The all-party meeting convened by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba in a bid to ending the parliament impasse has urged the main opposition party, the CPN UML, and its leader KP Sharma Oli to play a pivotal role in proceeding ahead of the parliament session in a smooth and dignified manner.

Top leaders of all the parties representing the parliament except the CPN UML attended the meeting held at the Prime Minister's official residence at Baluwatar.

The Prime Minister called the all-party meeting today at the request of National Assembly Chairperson Ganesh Prasad Timilsina to take initiation to end the parliament deadlock as the main opposition party, UML, has been obstructing the current parliament session since its commencement expressing its dissatisfaction over some activities of the Speaker.

Government spokesperson and Minister for Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki said after the meeting that the main opposition party's absence has given rise to doubts whether it was trying to avoid talks and dialogue.

Minister Karki said that PM Deuba in the meeting urged the UML chairperson Oli to take initiation for dialogue, consultations, and consensus.

Stating that it would not be appropriate to obstruct the parliament business when 30 bills are under consideration in the House of Representatives and 27 bills under consideration in the National Assembly, the Government Spokesperson urged the main opposition not to impede the parliament meeting in order to give an outlet to such topics directly related with the public interest.

Prime Minister and Nepali Congress President Deuba, Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, from Nepali Congress, Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' and leader Narayankaji Shrestha from CPN (Maoist Centre), General-Secretary Beduram Bhusal and leader Rajendra Pandey from and CPN (Unified Socialist), Mahantha Thakur and Rajendra Mahato from Democratic Socialist Party, Rajendra Shrestha and Mahendra Raya Yadav from Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal, Prem Suwal from Nepal Workers and Peasants Party and Durga Poudel from Rastriya Janamorcha, among others attended the all-party meeting, shared Personal Secretary of PM's Parliamentary Party, Keshav Raj Joshi.


Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba PM Deuba All Party Meetings Parliament business Dignified Manner opposition party CPN-UML Gyanendra Bahadur Karki Nepali Congress CPN Unified Socialist House of Representatives HoR National Assembly
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal