Monday Jan 30, 2023
Monday Jan 30, 2023

Result of six municipalities in Banke made public

2022 May 21, 8:34, Nepalgunj
A view of a busy road in Nepalgunj Sub-metropolis in Banke district. Photo: Nepalgunj Sub-metropolis

Voting results of six out of eight local levels of Banke have been made public. The results of Kohalpur Municipality and Narenapur Municipality are yet to come. At various local levels of the district, the Nepali Congress has won the most number of five municipalities. In one, the Maoist center has won. UML, which won four municipalities in the local level election of 2017 AD, has to settle for the wards of the municipalities only.

Nepali Congress has won in Raptisonari, Duduwa, Baijnath, Janaki and Nepalgunj sub-metropolis of Banke district. The Maoist center has won in Khajuraho. In Kohalpur Municipality, where the final results are yet to be declared, Congress and JSP are leading in Narainapur.

In Raptisonari village, Tapt Poudel of the Nepali Congress has won the election with 10,112 votes and Manisha Singh Tharu has won the election with 10,134 votes. Poudel's nearest rival Pattu Tharu of the UCPN (Maoist) Central Committee polled 9,292 votes while Ram Das Tharu of the CPN-UML polled 9,124 votes.

 In Raptisonari, which has nine wards, the Nepali Congress has won only the post of chairperson-vice-chairperson. UML has won five wards, UCPN-M has won three wards and RPP has won one ward. Narendra Chaudhary and Shahida Bano of the Nepali Congress have been elected for a second term in Duduwa village municipality. Chairman Chaudhary polled 6,272 votes while his nearest rival Bhandarilal Yadav of Jaspa polled 5,125 votes while Saroj Kumari Yadav of UML polled 3,711 votes.

 While Shahida won the vice-president's post with 5,864 votes, Tarannum Bano of Jaspa got 4,754 votes and Shakil Khan of the CPN-UML came third with 4,158 votes. In the six-ward municipality, UML has won two, Jaspa three and Congress one.

In Nepalgunj sub-metropolis, Prashant Bista of the Nepali Congress, who is contesting from the JSP-Congress alliance, has won by getting 23,460 votes. He defeated UML's Pashupati Dayal Mishra by almost two votes. Mishra polled 11,675 votes. RPP's Nandlal Vaishya came third with 7,595 votes. Even though Nepalgunj was defined as the stronghold of RPP, it could not maintain its supremacy.

Kamaruddin Rai of Jaspa won the by-poll with 17,950 votes while Shantidevi Dhakal of UML got 10,915 votes and Bindu Chartimagar of RPP got 10,135 votes. In Nepalgunj, which has 23 wards, Jaspa came first with six wards including deputy chief, Congress second with five wards including mayor, UML third with five wards, Maoist center fourth with four wards and RPP fifth with three wards. The total number of voters in Nepalgunj sub-metropolis is 81,794. A total of 61,205 votes were cast.

In Banke's Khajura village municipality, Maoist center candidate Dambar BK Tufan has won from the alliance. He won by getting 10,790 votes. His nearest rival Suman Malla of the CPN-UML polled 9,137 votes.

Nepali Congress Vice President Manju Malla won the election by getting 10,034 votes. Her closest rival, UML's Tajrun Nisha, polled 8,091 votes. In Khajuraho, which has eight wards, the UCPN-M has won four wards, the Congress three and the UML one.

 In Janaki village municipality, Chhabban Khan of Nepali Congress has won with 6,653 votes. His nearest rival Himanshu Yadav of the CPN-UML polled 4,795 votes. Ram Pyari Yadav of the Nepali Congress won the election with 6,609 votes while his nearest rival Bhumisara Dhital of the CPN-UML got 3,456 votes. Dhital is the outgoing vice president. In the six-ward municipality, the Maoist center has won one, Jaspa two and the Nepali Congress three.

Prakash Shah of Nepali Congress has won in Vaijnath village municipality of the district by getting 12,180 votes. His closest rival Ghannath Khanal of the CPN (UML) polled 10,382 votes. Dipendra Shah of the UCPN (M) polled 5,214 votes.

Nirmala Rokay of Nepali Congress won the election by getting 12,152 votes. His nearest rival Prempurna Yogi of UML polled 10,733 votes.


election results election nepal Result of six municipalities in Banke made public Nepalgunj
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal