Sunday Mar 26, 2023
Sunday Mar 26, 2023

UML wins mayor, NC deputy mayor of Kankai

2022 May 18, 7:59, Jhapa
The CPN UML has decided to vote against the government during the vote of confidence at the House of Representatives.

CPN-UML candidate Rajendra Pokharel has been elected the mayor while Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Asha Shivakoti registered her win as the deputy mayor of Kankai municipality in Jhapa.

Pokharel was elected the mayor of Kankai in the previous local level election in 2017. He secured 8,673 votes to become a winner this time. His close contender Rudra Prasad Chimiriya of the Nepali Congress obtained only 6,661 votes.

Independent mayoral candidate Sher Bahadur Thapa got 5,961 votes and Shyam Sundar Oli of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) received 2,005 votes.

Likewise, deputy mayoral candidate Shivakoti secured 10,713 votes whereas her close contender Manju Prasain of CPN-UML received 8,875 votes. Manju was elected deputy mayor of Kankai in the earlier local level election.


CPN-UML Nepali Congress Kankai Jhapa Rastriya Prajatantra Party
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal