Thursday Jun 20, 2024
Thursday Jun 20, 2024

18 parties registered for Chitwan 2 election

2023 Mar 01, 12:14, Chitwan
Picture Credit: Pinterest

According to the Election Commission, 18 parties have been registered for the by-elections to be held in Chitwan No. 2.

For the by-elections to be held on 15 April, the commission had fixed the party registration time till April 3. Electoral Commission spokesperson Shaligram Sharma Poudel informed that 18 parties have been registered within the one-week deadline.

CPN UML, Nepali Congress, CPN Maoist Center, Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) have registered their parties.

Similarly, Nepal Workers Peasants Party(NWPP), Rashtriya Janamorcha, Civil Liberation Party, Mongolian National Organization, National Citizen Party, Rashtriya Janmukti, CPN Maoist Socialist, Renaissance Party, Maulik Jarokilo, National Liberation Movement and Jai Janamukti Party has also registered its party, according to the Election Commission.

Rabi Lamichhane, chairman of the RSP, was elected to the House of Representatives from Chitwan Region No. 2 in the House of Representatives election. But his position as a member of Parliament was canceled by the Supreme Court. After Lamicchane renounced his American citizenship, the Supreme Court ruled that he had not completed the legal process to regain his Nepali citizenship.


18 parties registered Chitwan 2 election Election Commission Shaligram Sharma Poudel
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal