Sunday Feb 5, 2023
Sunday Feb 5, 2023

General Secretary Thapa: 'Victory for stronger Congress'

2021 Dec 16, 19:01, Kathmandu
This undated image shows Youth leader of Nepali Congress Gagan Kumar Thapa. Photo: Gagan Thapa/Facebook

Newly elected General Secretary of the Nepali Congress Gagan Kumar Thapa has said that the party will be strengthened in a legal manner. Talking to media persons at the party's central office in Sanepa after the victory of the General Secretary from the 14th General Convention of the Nepali Congress, he said that he would do justice to the votes he got in the General Convention and fulfill his responsibilities honestly.

He said, "I would like to thank the delegates of the General Convention for giving me the responsibility of the post of General Secretary. I will carry this trust and responsibility efficiently. ” Stating that he would work to build a party of trust among the youth who are the bearers of change, he assured the delegates of the General Convention to be elected as the General Secretary that he would not allow the situation of choosing the wrong person one day.

He said that he would work with the elected officials to empower the party president and make the party well-organized. He said that getting more votes also means gaining more trust, adding that he would fulfill his responsibilities in a mature manner.

Another newly-elected General Secretary, Bishwaprakash Sharma, said that the General Convention vote had expressed the aspiration of transformation by making two youths victorious in the journey of change. Announcing that he would move ahead accordingly as the country expects two young general secretaries to work together, he said that he would now compete in his job, as the election competition was over.

He mentioned that the victory of a changed Congress and the aspiration to form a strong Congress was more than the victory of a certain person from the election. Expressing confidence that he would appreciate the votes from different groups, General Secretary Sharma expressed the view that he would move forward with the goal of forming a transformed Congress and winning the upcoming election.

Thapa and Sharma have won the post of General Secretary in today's counting of votes for the post of General Secretary under the General Convention. Thapa got 3,023 votes and Sharma got 1,984 votes. Similarly, other candidates for the post of General Secretary, Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat got 1,556 votes, Pradip Poudel got 1,393 votes, Dr Minendra Rijal got 809 votes and Dr Rajaram Karki got 106 votes, according to the Central Election Committee. Out of 4,682 votes cast, Thapa got the highest number of votes while Sharma got the second highest.


politics Nepali Congress Gagan Thapa election 14th general convention general secretary vote Bishwaprakash Sharma
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal