Tuesday Jul 5, 2022
Tuesday Jul 5, 2022

Rajendra Rai appointed CM of Province 1

2021 Nov 02, 17:02,
This undated image shows the building of Province 1 Assembly in Biratnagar, Morang district.

Commanding the support of 50 Provincial Assembly (PA) members, Rajendra Rai, the Parliamentary Party leader of CPN (Unified Socialist) has been appointed as the Chief Minister of Province 1 today. Province 1 Chief Somnath Adhikari 'Pyasi' appointed him.

Rai has the support of Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), People's Socialist Party and one PA member from Federal Democratic Forum which command 21, 15, 3 and 1 seat respectively in the Provincial Assembly. To retain majority government, 47 seats are enough in the 92-member Assembly.

On Monday, Chief Minister Bhim Acharya gave his resignation from his 68-day tenure as the second CM of the Province. Acharya was short of six seats to secure majority.


Rajendra Rai CPN Unified Socialist Somnath Adhikari Province 1 Nepali Congress Federal Democratic Forum Chief Minister Bhim Acharya
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal